jennasday

Health, fitness, communications, and everything in between!

Budget all the way!

1 Comment

If you know me, you probably know I have strong opinions about money. If you don’t, let me be the first to tell you. I have strong opinions about money. I have strong opinions about debt. And I think everyone is able to get their finances under control!

This is the first time I’m talking about a budget, but it won’t be the last!

It was almost a year ago that I sat down at my IKEA kitchen table (that I purchased and put together myself … okay, with the help of a friend) to put together a budget. It was an aggressive budget that depended on me working a certain number of hours at my serving job as well as working my full-time job. And that very night I sprained my ankle badly, and my goals were impossible before I even started. There were lots of tears that night, and not all from the pain.

Months after that sprained ankle, I am proud to tell you that I’m only working one job, and I’ve started to hit the first of my list of financial goals. I couldn’t have done it without taking control of my money through my budget.

Don’t just take it from me. I have no formal training on finances or money management. But I do read a lot about money and how to manage it, and I’m happy to say that I’m in the black – no debt, and the amount of money in my bank account keeps increasing!

If you’re a reader and you want a ready-made plan, check out The Total Money Makeover by Dave Ramsey*. It includes a clear, step-by-step way to get out of debt and build wealth. What I tell people about this book is that it may not include the ONLY way to get out of debt, but if you follow his plan, it WILL work – it’s impossible for it not to.

I’ll leave you with that – I have a cottage to get to tonight. 🙂

Thanks for reading Jenna’s Day!

*I’m not affiliated in any way with Dave Ramsey; I just read his book, am following the plan, and am finding success! More on this later.

One thought on “Budget all the way!

  1. Pingback: Go get your goal | jennasday

Leave a Reply

