jennasday

Health, fitness, communications, and everything in between!

Oh, Canada!

Leave a comment

Oh, Canada!

Yesterday* was election day. Federal election day, to be exact, where we as a country had to vote on who we wanted to lead our country for the foreseeable future.

After waiting more than 2 hours in line to vote in Winnipeg’s mayoral election, I opted for the advance polls this time around. The election workers were very competent. They told me how long the wait was going to be and ran their stations as efficiently as possible. (I think that location should have had two voter stations; would have made it go by much quicker. But not their fault at all.)

So yesterday I didn’t follow things TOO closely. I knew the election was happening, obviously, but then I went into a barn and had no cell service from 6:30-9 pm. I was occupied and forgot all about it. Then I got home and the race had been called! A new majority government was in place, just like that.

Now, this is not a political post. I’m not here to decry – or to celebrate – Justin Trudeau’s victory. But I realized just how crazy it is that across this country hundreds of thousands of people came out to vote, and collectively there was a very strong sense of purpose. (Sadly in my opinion, the agenda was a negative one – get Harper out – but it was still a collective goal all the same.) And boy, did people ever make sure it happened.

I have NEVER seen even close to as many social media posts about an election as I did for this one. There were events, goodbye celebration parties, and dozens of posts simply reminding (or telling) everyone to get out and vote. I think I posted three, but there were many more.

That, to me, is cool. The fact that the people of our country wanted something to happen and together made it so. The fact that people were part of something bigger. Is JT the best thing for Canada? I don’t know, and this is not the place to speculate.** Rather, this is a celebration of being in a country where people care enough to be a part of something bigger than themselves.

You go, Canada!

*Yes it’s after midnight. But it’s still Tuesday in my heart.

**I repeat: I’m not making a political statement here one way or the other. For the sake of the intent of this post, any comments along that line will be deleted.

Leave a Reply

