jennasday

Health, fitness, communications, and everything in between!

Review: The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo

Leave a comment

Note: I wrote this review last year and for some reason neglected to post it. I recently found it on my hard drive and since I’m currently reading the sequel, figured maybe it’s time.

[January 2015]

I picked up The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo during my vacation at the end of January. I hadn’t seen the movie and hardly knew anything about the story except that it was good but intense.

It begins with a quote about violence against women in Sweden:

18% of the women in Sweden have been threatened by a man.

Later, as I continued reading, I realized that was an ominous sign. I hadn’t realized violence against women was such a significant theme.

The book starts more slowly than you might expect, with a character you don’t think will be important in a book titled ‘The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo.’ It’s the type of book that makes you feel smarter as you’re reading, the kind that uses big words but isn’t presumptuous about it. I had to look up definitions for one or two, although I understood the gist without the dictionary definition. The story unravels in a slow and almost meandering way before suddenly getting into a suspenseful part that makes you want to shut the world out so you can read.

Despite having the luxury of a long book and plenty of time with his readers, Larsson does not make the mistake I feel Martin does with the Game of Thrones series, which is taking 500 pages for the reader to really get to know (and begin empathizing with) and start caring for the characters. Larsson does not shove them in  your face, but you form an opinion about each person soon enough. The characters quickly become familiar, and you get to know their faults as well as virtues. The whole thing is written in third person omniscient which gives an almost-impersonal feel, since you know everything the character is feeling but only from the outside. But that is more of a nitpicking comment than anything else because the story is incredible. It sucks you in before you’ve realized you’re interested and what goes from seemingly-unimportant events and encounters to grab-the-arm-of-your-chair, look-over-your-shoulder suspense and some gruesome finds.

[Mild spoilers]

Having heard a bit about the story, especially when the English version of the movie came out, I was anticipating a rape scene, or at least a scene with sexual violence. However, I never would have expected it to be as graphic and horrible as it was, especially with the style of writing and date of publication (it’s not a new book). I also did not expect the level of horror and depravity in other parts of the book, once I’d made it past that scene. So if you read it, beware. This book isn’t for children or the faint of heart.

I guess I didn’t realize it was a murder mystery. I rarely read a book without knowing what it’s about and this was an interesting experience.

Extremely well-written. Excellent character development, the right mix of description and action, realistic dialogue, and of course a good (though not always enjoyable) plot.

Graphic, disturbing content may upset some readers. I know it upset me.

Leave a Reply

