jennasday

Health, fitness, communications, and everything in between!

Quantico: Season 1

Leave a comment

The week after I got home from Ireland, I burned through season 1 of Quantico, an ABC drama that premiered in September 2015.

The story follows Alex Parrish (played by Priyanka Chopra), a star in FBI training academy Quantico, who wakes up among the rubble of a terrorist attick on Grand Central Station. The season follows her as she races the clock to find who is really behind the attack, and to evade capture as she’s been framed and the FBI is after her.

The first few episodes were fascinating and thrilling and I was kept on the edge of my seat (very useful as I was fighting jet lag to get back into a normal schedule), but as the season progressed, each reveal seemed larger than the last. Don’t get me wrong, I enjoyed the whole thing, but the season finale brought what felt like a sigh of relief. The heart-stopping pace of the season made shocking reveals seem normal – so much so that the “big” reveal at the end of the season merely felt like more of the same. I didn’t even feel surprised. I knew I was supposed to, but I didn’t.

Although I enjoyed getting to know the characters and learning about them as the present-day timeline unfolded along with flashbacks to the training at Quantico, it seemed like the stakes were always so high it was tough to get to know who the characters really were. Plenty of shocking moments but not a lot of quiet character development underneath.

As an action series, it was enjoyable and interesting, and I’m looking forward to watching season 2 when it becomes available on Netflix.

Leave a Reply

